Puducherry Assembly elections: Rahul Gandhi’s Push Helps Congress, DMK Finalise Seat Sharing Pact


The Congress and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on Thursday signed an agreement to form an alliance for the Puducherry Assembly elections.

Of the total 30 seats in the Puducherry Assembly, the Congress will field its candidates from 15 constituencies while the DMK will contest from 13 seats. The remaining two seats will be offered to smaller allies for the assembly polls scheduled to take on April 6.

READ: ABP Opinion Poll: Who Benefits From Mamata’s Nandigram Injury, TMC Or BJP? Here’s What People Think

Dinesh Gundu Rao, the in-charge for Congress affairs in Puducherry, confirmed the same and said the people of Puducherry will teach the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) a “befitting lesson” in the assembly polls.

“Finalised the alliance between @INCIndia & @arivalayam #PuducherryElection2021. Thiru @mkstalin & @INCPuducherry President Thiru AV Subramaiam signed the seat sharing agreement. We will win the election and the people of #Puducherry will teach the BJP a befitting lesson,” he tweeted.

READ: Assam Election 2021: Check Detailed List Of Phase-Wise Polling In State Constituencies

Sources said the seat-sharing pact between the two parties was finalized following Congress leader Rahul Gandhi’s intervention.

The results will be declared on May 2.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here