PM Modi Launches Indian Space Association, Shares Four Pillars Of Reforms In Space Sector


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the Indian Space Association (ISpA) in a virtual event on Monday. PM Modi also interacted with the representatives of the space industry on the occasion.

PM Modi discussed the reforms in the space sector and said, “Our approach to Space reforms is based on four pillars — freedom to private sector in innovation, role of Govt as an enabler, to make youth future-ready, & to see the Space sector as a resource for the progress of common man.”

The Prime Minister further said that with the ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’ vision, our country is witnessing comprehensive reforms. PM said, “It’s not just a vision, but a well thought & integrated economic strategy that is facilitating global development.”

PM Modi said. “This is the time of exponential innovation, which can only be achieved when Govt doesn’t play the role of handler but enabler. Today Govt is sharing its expertise and providing launch pads for the private sector. Today, the facility of ISRO is being opened for the private sector.”

PM Modi also told that earlier, the Space sector was synonymous with the government. He said that the ruling government changed this mindset, brought in innovation in the Space sector, and gave the mantra of cooperation between Govt & startups. This new mantra is necessary because this is not the time of linear innovation for India.

According to a Prime Minister`s Office (PMO) release, the ISpA is the premier industry association of space and satellite companies, which aspires to be the collective voice of the Indian space industry.

It will undertake policy advocacy and engage with all stakeholders in the Indian space domain, including the government and its agencies. ISpA echoes Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision of Atmanirbhar Bharat, making the country technologically advanced and a leading player in the space arena.

ISpA is represented by leading homegrown and global corporations with advanced capabilities in space and satellite technologies.

Its founding members include Larson & Toubro, Nelco (Tata Group), OneWeb, Bharti Airtel, Mapmyindia, Walchandnagar Industries and Ananth Technology Limited. Other core members include Godrej, Hughes India, Azista-BST Aerospace Private Limited, BEL, Centum Electronics and Maxar India. 

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here